AIA Europe
Images from the AIA Europe Pool at Flickr




AIA board brings sustainability into CES requirement

A new requirement calls for 4 of the 18 AIA/CES hours to be related to “sustainable design” (SD), the definition of which is being determined by the AIA Continuing Education Quality Assurance Panel (CEQAP). This requirement is specified to run from 2009 through 2012, at which time, the Board will evaluate whether to extend it.

This continuing education requirement is independent of any state licensure requirements. (Texas has enacted a sustainable-design continuing education requirement in April 2008.)

The decision, taken in March by the AIA national Board of Directors, will not increase the total learning-unit requirement (18 hours, 8 of which must be on health, safety, and welfare topics).

AIA Continental Europe will ensure that continuing education programs qualify for SD learning units.

Dominique Tomasov Blinder, ContEd committee chair

Labels: ,