AIA Europe
Images from the AIA Europe Pool at Flickr




Mandatory Continuing Education for New York State

The AIACE Continuing Education contact, Dominique Tomasov, AIA wishes to inform members with New York State licensing rulings recently announced.

Be assured that Dominque will make the necessary efforts in the definition of the Chapter’s programs so as to comply with the new requirements. This is only possible with the close collaboration of the program coordinator in each case. On the C1 forms, we will continue to indicate which sessions qualify for HSW, applying the most stringent criteria (that of the AIA or that of a state).

New York State Mandatory Continuing Education — MCE

There have been rulings during the past several months by the New York State boards for architects, engineers and land surveyors that could affect most if not all 2500+ AIA/CES Providers. The board rulings indicate that in order for a course to qualify for mandatory continuing education (MCE) in New York the provider must be able to demonstrate that at least 75% of the course content will benefit the general public. If the course cannot be demonstrated to benefit the general public then the architect, engineer, or land surveyor will not receive MCE credit for New York licensure. The requirement that course content benefits the general public is a core value to the HSW definition for the AIA/CES. As a result of these recent rulings the AIA/CES now recommends that to qualify for New York MCE that the architect should take all HSW related courses. As a CES Provider, if your course does not qualify for HSW you should inform any architect who holds a New York license that the state probably will not accept the course for state MCE.

For further information or questions regarding continuing education requirements in New York State, please see, send your question via email to, or call the Board office at +1-518-474-3817.

Contact: Mike Brazlavsky +1-305-48-7488.